Nicosia (Lefkosia), has been the capital of Cyprus for over one thousand years. As the capital of the Republic, Nicosia is the political, administrative, financial and cultural and higher education center of Cyprus. Greater Nicosia is subdivided into seven municipalities, but the metropolitan authority is the Municipality of Nicosia itself, within which the various main government buildings and headquarters are all located.

With a rich and visible history of over 6,000 years, bearing witness to the tumultuous past of Cyprus, Nicosia is the last divided capital of Europe and claims a deserved place at the pinnacle of European culture. It also seeks to act as a bridge between the countries of the region and the European Union.

To find out more visit the Nicosia Municipality website.